Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. To access EBSCOhost you will need to contact the library for our username and password. Then click on any of the following links to get started!
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] – offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency. Videos relevant to the search terms appear in a carousel in the result list. With footage from 1930 to the present and updated monthly, this collection of more than 60,000 videos covers a wide variety of topics.
Auto Repair Reference Center[EBSCO] covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ.
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. The web site also includes links to the Youth Encyclopedia of Canada and Encyclopedia of Music in Canada. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Reference Centre [EBSCO] – Access “Canadian content” in domestic and international magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. Also includes biographies and a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Canadian Student Research Centre [EBSCO] – Provides several customized Canadian features, from new source types (such as Canadian and International Magazines, Canadian and U.S. Newspapers). Limiters include lexile (reading level) and grade levels adjusted to Canadian values.
EBSCOHost – Search more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc.
Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia – For students and adults alike, this database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
Home Improvements Reference Center [EBSCO] – A definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. This comprehensive resource contains over 25 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images. Additionally, the database contains full-text magazines.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
Kids Search [EBSCO] – Kids in grades 3-8 can have fun searching for information in children’s magazines, reference books or a large image collection. Type in key words or browse in topics such as Arts and Crafts, Geography or Sports.
Manitoba Codes – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] – contains full text for general reference magazines and publications that cover a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. PDF backfiles are available as far back as 1922 for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more. In addition, Science News is available in HTML back to 1975.
Middle Search Plus [EBSCO] contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History and reference books such as the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Animals. Full-text magazines include Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
Primary Search [EBSCO] – Provides students with encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. In addition, the database includes full-text popular magazines including those from Cricket Media, such as Ladybug and Spider. Other magazines include Highlights, Junior Scholastic and dozens more.
Searchasaurus [EBSCO] – Dinosaurs help children in grades K-3 (and their parents) to find information in children’s magazines, reference books and a collection of photos, maps and flags.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center [EBSCO] – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered.